Painting With Bleach: A Tutorial

So my friend Tracy’s monthly challenge this month was bleach pens. Well, I guess everyone’s making bleach pen shirts lately, because I went to a few places and couldn’t find one! I still wanted to participate in the challenge, so I decided to try painting some bleach onto a shirt. Well, it worked out pretty good! I could see doing a lot with this method.
 

I have a splashless bleach (what will they come up with next?) that’s got more of a thicker texture to it, making it easier to paint on. So, because I’m completely freaked out about getting bleach anywhere, I put just a tiny bit into a little dixie cup (yes, it’s a dinosaur dixie cup…be jealous).

 

*Edited* Forgot to mention I placed a piece of cardboard in between the shirt to make sure it didn’t go through to the other side! I roughly drew my design lightly with some chalk, just to make sure that’s where I wanted it placed. I wanted to make a paisley design, so I used my bandana as inspiration.

 

Then, I simply painted over the chalk marks. I also added some extra stuff to give it more detail.

 

After about 15 minutes minutes it started to turn an orangey color, and after about a half hour it became lighter.

 

After about an hour, it was completely dried, and looked perfect!

Check out Tracy’s monthly challenges, if you haven’t yet!! They’re a lot of fun!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

11 responses to “Painting With Bleach: A Tutorial

  1. Youll never guess what Ive been doing today… painting bleach onto a tee! Hahaha then while its drying I check out wordpress and youve done it too! Mine didnt work out very well tho. How do you get the print white?! 😀

  2. Thanks for the alternative method! I have never heard of bleach pens and doubt they exist here. But I have thick bleach I can use! Going to the store today for some tees….. very cool post! Love paisley!

    • Awesome! The bleach pen is actually a really cool invention, it’s super thick, like a gel, making it really easy to draw something out….but I think this worked just as well! Have fun!

  3. Pingback: Placemat To Clutch: Monthly Challenge | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

