Popsicle Stick Bracelets: A Tutorial

I know popsicle stick bracelets are all over Pinterest, but they were so much fun making, I just had to have a post! As some of you may know by now, I’ve been working on my Christmas list for a while because I’m trying to give as much handmade as possible. Well, these bracelets will be going to my nieces. I was thinking about making it a DIY gift, and giving some stuff to design there own, but then I thought that could get messy, and I’m sure there parents would justloveΒ that, so I used some scrapbook paper I knew they’d like, and covered them myself. They’re around the same age, so of course they have to have the same thing (I made the mistake of getting one of them a Little Mermaid chapstick and the other a Cinderella once year, and of course the one wanted the other’s. So now I give them the exact. same. thing. lol lesson learned!)

I started by soaking my (jumbo sized) popsicle sticks in some water for about an hour (but later found on other blogs that they boiled them for 15 minutes). Soak more sticks than you’re going to be making if it’s your first time, as you may break a few in the process!!

 

There are two ways to mold the sticks into bracelets. You can put them inside of a cup (or jar), like so:

 

Or, you can wrap them around a round object. I liked this way MUCH better. I wish I would have gotten a picture of the ones that came out from inside the jar, but they were warped and misshapen. So I suggest wrapping them around a cup, or something similar in shape. You have to go very, very slowly otherwise they will crack. I tied 2 rubberbands over each bracelet and then tied a ribbon just to make sure it would get perfectly circular all the way around.

 

While your bracelets are drying (which they will take a few hours to) use another popsicle stick and trace it onto some scrapbook paper (another great way to use up that scrap paper!), or another item of choice.

 

I even used my fancy scissors to make one of them! You can do so much with these!

 

After the bracelets dried for a while, I took them off and tied rubberbands around them like so, this way the insides could dry better, and faster. I did this all before bed, that way when I woke up they were completely dried. (As you can see, there is paper on this one. I forgot to take a picture before, whoops!)

 

Finally, slather some Mod Podge over the stick, and carefully line up your paper with the sides, pushing any air bubbles out. It’s always good to use a thicker paper with Mod Podge that way you know you won’t get any wrinkles.
Let the Mod Podge dry, and you’re all set! I wrapped mine in a little ribbon, so they’d all stay together πŸ™‚ This was a really fun project, and especially would be fun for the kids to join and and decorate there own!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

7 responses to “Popsicle Stick Bracelets: A Tutorial

  1. What a fun excuse to eat lots of popsicles! I must be getting old because when I was younger it was all about toothbrush bracelets! haha

  2. These are so cute- and the best part is that you can make them any size, I would think. That would be great for someone with a larger wrist who has trouble finding bangles to fit!

  3. Pingback: Christmas Gifts of 2012 | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

