Easy Handmade Bag: A Tutorial

Well, I started making this really cool bag (that was in my head) and it ended up looking like….a diaper. I will perfect it one day though!! But I didn’t have the time, or energy (or fabric!), to try today. So what I did, was take it all apart (so excuse the old seams!!), and make a really simple, but really cute (and easy!) bag. There’s nothing too special to it, but think of it as a blank canvas. You can doctor it up with the straps, add pockets, or pleats, or really anything your little heart desires!

So, start by cutting two 14in x 17in pieces of fabric, this will be the outside of your bag. Then, cut two 14in x 18in pieces of fabric, this will be the inside of your bag, so don’t go crazy with the fabric, it won’t really be seen. You want to sew three sides of the printed fabric, leaving one of the smaller sides unsewn, and sew only the longer sides on your inside fabric.

 

The original bag straps I was going to make, used this cording, so I incorporated it into my new bag. For each strap, I cut two 25in pieces and twisted them together, sewing the edges so it wouldn’t come undone. If you can’t find this cording, or don’t like the look of it, you can just make straps out of the fabric.

Pin together the small sides of both the patterned fabric and lining, using the seams as your guide. Mark 2in from the seams, and put your straps through, and pin them down. Make sure the straps are on the right side!! You only want to see the ends when you’re sewing!

 

Turn it inside out, and then pin and sew the ends of your liner.

 

And that’s it! An easy way to make a pretty basic bag that you can make all your own! 🙂

 

I even added a little fabric flower pin that I made a while ago just to give it a lil’ sumthin sumthin.

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!

 

13 responses to “Easy Handmade Bag: A Tutorial

  1. Thanks for commenting on my blog! I keep looking through your projects, eager to try a few. Looking for the perfect XL shirt to make that one dress for sure:) Thanks for the inspiration!

    • I wanted to make the t-shirt dress for so long, and couldn’t think of what color to try it with, and then when I saw that one, I knew it was The One!! lol Now I’ve gone out and bought white, grey, and black to make some more 🙂 Thanks for the sweet comment!!

  2. oh this is very nice! love it! love the gentle colours and that flower made me squeal with delight! being surrounded by boys i love these feminine touches!

    • Haha! Thanks 🙂 I actually plan on doing a tutorial for the flower, as there are so many different ways to make them….this ones my favorite, and easier than some of the ones ive seen online!

    • Thank you! I actually went into the store to get a navy and white striped fabric to go with more of a nautical feel, but when I saw this fabric I was like theres no way I can not get this!! I just love the organic feel to it, and thank you, I love the straps too! I’ve done a bunch of bags with these straps….it just changes the whole feel of them!

  3. Pingback: Fabric Flower: A Tutorial | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

