Zuccini Pasta With Avocado & Cashew Creme Sauce: A Recipe

I know…..sounds weird right??? Well as weird as it sounds, it’s also REALLY good. The husband liked it too!  🙂 It’s been SUPER hot here in NY lately, and I’ve been trying to come up with dinners that I don’t need to turn the oven on for. Well, this is a perfect dish! I make it using a vegetable spiral cutter, but you could also cut thin strips of the zucchini and cut them into spaghetti like strands.

Here’s  my vegetable cutter. Unfortunately I forgot about it for a while, but I’m glad I remembered it, because it’s GREAT! It’s got three different attachment blades, and I usually use the smaller strands to get a spaghetti like texture.

 

I peeled and cut the edges of the zucchini off, and stuck it in the cutter making sure it was centered.

 

After I crank about 4 or 5 times, I usually break off what comes out so the strands aren’t too long.

 

While the strands come out, the center and the one end aren’t used, so you get a little something that looks like a long mushroom.  You can either throw these out, or feed them to a hungry pup. lol 🙂

 

I put the “spaghetti” in a strainer over a bowl, and sprinkle some salt and toss it a bit to drain any excess water.

 

You’d actually be surprised at how much water comes out! When I’m ready to mix the sauce in, I blot it a little with a paper towel.

 

The texture isn’t like pasta by any means. It’s got a bite to it, a bit of a crunch, but it’s delicious. I made an avocado cashew creme sauce to go with it. My amazing (and beautiful 🙂 ) cousin who has been eating super healthy since she had her beautiful baby girl a little over a year ago, has always asked me for recipes, but this time I actually asked her! She posted a picture of the creme sauce over some pasta and I knew I had to try it! I changed it up a bit, but here’s the original recipe. It was soooo good! I’m actually wanting some more now that I’ve posted these pictures!! 🙂

 

Avocado & Cashew Creme Sauce: Recipe adapted from Quick-Fix Vegan

  • ¼ cup cashews, soaked
  • ¼ clove garlic ( I ALWAYS start with a very small amount of garlic in a raw meal!!)
  • ¼ teaspoon salt
  • ¼ cup fresh basil leaves
  • 2 tablespoons fresh parsley leaves
  • ¼ teaspoon dried thyme leaves
  • ¼ teaspoon freshly ground black pepper
  • 1 ripe avocados
  • 1 tablespoons freshly squeezed lemon juice
  • ¼  cup water (or more)
  • 1 tablespoons olive oil

Stick everything in a blender and…blend! Add more water if needed. That’s it!! Can’t get any easier than that, and no need to put the stove on!

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until…Friday! Enjoying some family time 🙂

5 responses to “Zuccini Pasta With Avocado & Cashew Creme Sauce: A Recipe

  1. That looks pretty yummy! My zucchinis are just stating to grow. They are about 3 or 4 inches long. I’m going to have to try this. I hope you’ll have more zucchini recipes because I have a feeling I’m going to have a truckload of them.
    Beth

  2. Pingback: Vegan Zucchini Bread: A Recipe | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Do you cook the zucchini or eat it raw? I’m starting to eat healthy but so clueless..lol & how many servings does this make.

    • Eat this raw! You could very well make the sauce and just make regular pasta, but this particular recipe is raw. I’m not even sure how many servings it makes I haven’t made it in so long!

Leave a Reply

