Dandelion Paper Lantern: A Tutorial

I found this paper lantern a while ago on pinterest and fell in love! As beautiful as it is however, I could NOT afford that price! So I took it upon myself to recreate it! It was really easy, yet painful!! My poor little finger hurt for a few hours afterwards from using my Xacto knife so long…but in my opinion…so worth it! I love my paper lantern!!

I started out with some thin cardstock that I got from Michaels. It’s the paper that comes with our scrapbook paper to keep it from getting bent. We throw it out usually, but I’ve been keeping it for projects, and this was the perfect project for it! I’m sure that plain ol’ cardstock would work also though (and sure would be easier to cut through!). I also used my Martha Stewart floral stencils that I adore SO much (notice the paint stains on it…I use this thing all the time!!)!

 

I chose the dandelion, because I LOOOVE dandelions. All I did was trace it, and created a stem.

 

I cut out my dandelion, being very careful not to mess it up! You most definitely want a brand new knife for this, because the pressure you have to put on the thicker paper hurts your finger as it is, so you don’t want to have to put even more pressure down because you have a dull knife.

 

It took about 45 minutes to an hour to finish it. I’m just OCD and need to finish things in one sitting, but you could always take breaks and complete it within a day or two…I’m sure your finger would thank you!! 🙂

 

I wrapped and taped it together around an empty glass candle (similar to Yankee Candle, or Bath and Body Works) and then wrapped saran wrap around it for a few hours to force it to stay flat.

 

I actually ended up leaving the glass jar inside because it helped it stand up, and used 2 FAKE tea light candles (I would NOT suggest using real candles as the paper can catch on fire…uhduh) it looked great!! I will probably end up getting an actual paper lantern light, but the candles work fine for now 🙂 and I totally love my new lantern!

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

18 responses to “Dandelion Paper Lantern: A Tutorial

  1. Very creative….make a great hanging light too. Upside down I mean, with a light bulb inside.

  2. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

