Easy Slipcover Pillowcase: A Tutorial

Remember my Every Little Thing is Gunna be Alright pillow? After I made it, I realized that the seam down the side where I stuffed it, was driving me crazy. So, I made a pillowcase where you can slip the pillow in the back, and no ugly seams in sight! It seems complicated, but it’s actually really easy, I promise!!

Start by measuring your pillow from one side to the other. You want to measure just the front. I couldn’t find my vinyl measuring tape, so I took a ribbon and went from one end to the other, and then measured it against my ruler. I actually wrote all my measurements down because you’ll need them later. Mine was 17.5in.

 

I marked 18.5 inches (an extra inch for sewing) and doubled the 17.5inch and added another 6in (so the opening where you put your pillow in will be covered), and then cut!

 

Turn your ends in (both the smaller sides) and sew, that way they’re nice and neat.

 

Fold one side up, and the other side down (right sides together). Once both sides are folded, you want the measurement to be the length of your pillow.

 

Pin down your unfolded sides.

 

Sew it up a half in on each side (this is why you added the extra inch when you cut!).

 

Turn it inside out, and make sure it looks good.

 

Finally, stick your pillow in it! I love how it’s seamless from the front!

I painted my “Every Little Thing is Gunna be Alright” afterwards, but you already know what that looks like 😉

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

