Tea Bag Cozy: A Tutorial

I don’t know about you, but I love tea! I love to have a selection of what kind I like, and I like to have them on me so if I’m out and someone doesn’t have any, I can still enjoy a cup. I used to carry them loose around my bag and the little paper covers would open up and then the sachets would rip open and there would be tea leaves (leafs?) all over. Yes, you can put them in plastic baggies, but c’mon, how boring is that? So one day, I decided to make a little cozy just for my tea bags, sugar packets, etc. It would be a nice gift for a tea lover, and a great way to reuse some scrap fabric. The best part is, it was really easy!

Start by cutting out two 7in x 8.5in pieces of fabric. These will be the inside and the outside of your tea cozy (forgot to get a picture of these, but it’s pretty self explanatory).Β  Then for the pockets, cut out one 8.5in x 8.5in and one 6in x 8.5in. Fold them in half.

 

Then take your INSIDE fabric, and put your pockets on top of it. All the fabrics should be facing up.

 

Sew a little elastic band (I keep them from when I buy shoes that are tied together!) to the middle of the bottom fabric. I made the mistake of sewing it BEHIND the pockets and redid it (not that it took long), so remember to sew it IN FRONT of the pockets while doing it! It doesn’t have to be a strong stitch, just to keep it in place for when you sew it all together. *You could also sew ribbons to each side to be tied together if you don’t have the elastic band or button.*

 

Put your OUTSIDE fabric over both, RIGHTSIDE DOWN. Recognize the fabric? I used the scrap from my Skirt to a Dress post!

 

Sew three sides of the cozy closed. I leave the top wider part open to turn it inside out.

 

Cut the tips of the corners off to make it easier to push out.

 

Find where your button is aligned with the elastic band, and sew it down.

 

Now, fold your raw edges inward and sew it closed. I tried zig zagging around all the edges, but because the button was sewn on it was too difficult.

 

Find the center of your cozy and sew down the middle to form a strong crease so it folds easily.

 

Make sure it closes nicely and the button aligns with the elastic band.

 

And it’s all done!! Stick all your favorite teas in it and put it in your purse πŸ™‚

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

17 responses to “Tea Bag Cozy: A Tutorial

  1. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

