Stamped Coasters! Monthly Challenge

If you haven’t heard about it yet, my friend Tracy is hosting a challenge this month (and if it goes well, there will be more!) for DIY coasters. Now, as you may know, I already made some tile coasters a while back, so I wanted to do something different. I got these beautiful slate coasters from Michaels ($2.99), and decided to stamp them! I had the stamp and paint already, so it was a really inexpensive project, which you know I love! πŸ˜‰

Because the slate is natural, I wanted to stamp something organic looking on them. I had this leaf stamp that I purchased at Michaels (of course!) a while back, and I’m glad I did, because it was PERFECT for this project! I used an off white Martha Stewart paint so it would stand out against the dark grey slate.

 

Like my stamped iPod case I made a while back, I poured some paint onto a paper plate and spread it out a bit. You don’t want the paint to be thick, otherwise it will get in the creases of the stamp, and mess everrrything up!Β  When I’m stamping with paint, I pat the stamp down – LIGHTLY – a few times until the surface is completely covered.

 

It took 1 (or 2?) tries to get it right, but lucky for me, the slate was very easy to wipe clean! Look how great it came out! Letting my inner hippie out!

 

Once they were all done and dried, I sprayed them with some acrylic coating.

 

The spray gave it a nice sheen, and it will protect the paint from fading.

 

After letting it dry for about an hour, they were all done!

 

I have wayyy too many coasters in my house (just ask my husband) so these guys will be going to someone for Christmas πŸ™‚

 

Check out Tracy’s June challenge! You still have a few days left to join, and these only took me about an hour and a half including drying time! πŸ™‚

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

4 responses to “Stamped Coasters! Monthly Challenge

  1. Pingback: Placemat To Clutch: Monthly Challenge | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

