Homemade Vegan Ice Cream: A Recipe

I’ve been saying I’m going to make some ice cream for the past 2 months, and I don’t know why it took me so long to finally do, but holy crap! I forgot how awesome homemade ice cream was. I will be making some more again very soon. And this time I mean it! I don’t eat dairy ice cream, and the vegan ones can get super costly, so I rarely buy them. Well, last night, I made DOUBLE the amount for SO much less! Not to mention I put whatever my heart desired into it! Sadly, I took pictures of the whole process, and when I went to upload them they weren’t there! I’ve got NO idea how that happened, as the card was in the camera the whole time….but I’ll just have to write what I did, it’s REALLY not complicated anyway.

 

Hopefully you’ve got an ice cream maker (if you don’t, GET ONE NOW!!) as it makes this much easier! I’ve read on other blogs and recipes that you can stick your mixture in the freezer and stir every half hour or so until it’s got the texture of ice cream, but what a pain!! I’ve got myself the Cuisineart 2 quart ice cream maker, and I love it!! You just have to know in advance that you’ll be making ice cream that way you can stick the base in the freezer for at least 6 hours. I just always keep it in there because who knows when I’ll want to make some ice cream! Especially after I made this batch!

 

Vanilla Ice Cream: (Adapted the recipe from Veganomicon)

1/2 cup cream of coconut milk (the solid stuff that separates at the top of the can)

1 cup soy milk

1/4 cup agave

1/4 cup sugar (or try doing all agave)

6 ounces silken tofu

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

Blend until COMPLETELY smooth.

 

  • Now….here comes the fun part. That’s just the BASE of my ice cream, friends!! I then, added two bananas, and 3 tablespoons cocoa powder and blended again, until completely smooth.
  • I put my mixture in the fridge to get super cold, and then looked around for what I could add to the ice cream 🙂 I had some sea salt caramel, a few undipped peanut butter pretzel balls laying around that I crumbled up, and chocolate chips.
  • I personally love chocolate chips in my ice cream, but I HATE how hard they get, and they hurt my teeth when I try to bite into them, sooo…what I do, is melt the chocolate chips up, spread a very thin layer out onto some plastic wrap on a pan, and stick it in the freezer to harden. Once it hardens, I break it up into smaller pieces and yayyy! no more thick, hard, and frozen chocolate chips that you can’t bite through!
  • Once your ice cream mixture has chilled for at least a half hour, pour it into your ice cream maker and follow the manufacturer’s instructions. Mine probably look somewhere between 20 minutes and a half hour.
  • When the ice cream started to get really creamy towards the end, I drizzled my sea salt caramel in.
  • You don’t want to add your other goodies in while the machine is running, because it will just drop to the bottom (at least when I tried). So I turned my machine off, took the plastic insert out, and mixed the chocolate chips and pretzel balls (which if you don’t feel like making, could just crumble pretzels up instead) into the ice cream until thoroughly combined.
  • I love chocolate and salt together, so to top it off, I sprinkled a little sea salt and mixed it in a bit.
  • Finally, store in an airtight container in your freezer until it hardens a bit, or just eat it right away as soft serve ice cream like I did!
  • If you have leftovers, just take the container out about 10 to 15 minutes prior to serving.

The only picture (but most important!) I was able to get! The finished product… 🙂

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “Home” and “About This Blog!” links at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

14 responses to “Homemade Vegan Ice Cream: A Recipe

  1. I’m an “occasional vegan” – meaning I try to eat clean foods every once in a while to “cleanse” my body. Looks so yummy – I’ll try to make an attempt to make this this summer! =P

    • I don’t call myself vegan anymore as I do eat cheese every now and then (mostly on pizza lol) but I try to eat dairy free for the most part. Hope you do try it out! It was wonderfullll 🙂

  2. I had some really lush vegan icecream at Vegfest about a month ago, made with all coconut milk. Delish. I had the chocolate flavour, and because of the coconut milk it was chocolate with a hint of coconut. I would be interested to see if I could sub in more coconuttyness and make some.

  3. Pingback: Vegan Deep Dish Chocolate Chip Cookie: A Recipe | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

    • You could definitely sub the milk out with another milk of choice, and as for the tofu, I guarantee you could use soaked cashews. We used it when I worked at this raw restaurant, and my goodness, it was the best ice cream everrrr. I should try it out and update my post! I think I’m in need of some more ice cream anyway! 🙂 Thanks for the comment!

Leave a Reply

