Green Roscoe: A Smoothie Recipe

I looOove smoothies in the summer for breakfast. I slacked off a bit last year, but this year I’m all about the smoothies! Every morning I’ve been making them, and for the most part, it’s been the same one. It’s so damn good, I don’t WANT to have another kind! I’ll even have it twice in a day, which obviously isn’t bad for you, but I know I’m going to get totally sick of it eventually lol. It’s all good, I’ll just come up with an even better one πŸ™‚

 

 

 

So last week, I went to the farmers market and picked up some kale and spinach. Well, you may think this is weird, but Roscoe really likes his greens! Turned my back for one second and there he is, trying to sneak some kale out of my basket!!

 

A dog that likes leafy greens? You think I’m kidding? Not so much….just LOOK at those crazy eyes!

 

And THIS is why I’ve decided to call it a Green Roscoe πŸ™‚

 

So, I don’t know about you, but usually I’m AWFUL with my greens. I get SO much thinking I’m going to be all healthy and make salads a hundred times a day, …..and then more than half of it goes bad. Well, for my bridal shower, I registered for this salad keeper and oh my goodness am I glad I did. It’s awesome! So if you’re like me, you should DEFINITELY get one of these bad boys.

 

Green Roscoe (makes 1 very large or 2 normal sized servings)

1- 1 1/2 cup coconut water (or plain)

1 frozen banana

1/2 cup kale

1/2 cup spinach (or you could just 1 cup of one or the other)

1 seeded and chopped apple (any kind of your choice, I usually use gala, because I like it sweet)

Juice of 1 lemon or lime

Agave to taste

Ice

**This is the way I like love it, but you can add, or take out whatever you’d like. Make it your own :)**

 

Blend your water, banana, greens, apple, lemon/lime juice.

 

Once blended thoroughly, taste your drink. I personally, will add more greens if I don’t taste them. I think I’ve gotten away with 1 cup of EACH the kale and spinach without being able to taste them! If I’ve ever added too much where I can taste them, I’ll just add more of the other ingredients. I probably add about a tablespoon of agave, but if your apple is sweet enough you may not even need to add any sweetener. Once it’s all blended, add your ice cubes. I usually add about 6. Blend until they’re completely crushed. You want it to be nice and smooth so you’re not eating your smoothie!

 

This recipe makes a lot! But because it’s my breakfast, I’ll drink it all. Just cut it in half if you don’t think you’ll finish it, because it’s just a waste of healthiness, throwing any out!

 

I just LOVE this color!!!

 

Helpful hint….CHECK YOUR TEETH after you finish drinking this!!! You’ll be glad I warned you lol πŸ˜‰

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “Home” and “About This Blog!” links at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics! (Just added some great ones yesterday!)**

Until tomorrow!!

14 responses to “Green Roscoe: A Smoothie Recipe

  1. I love green smoothies! I actually posted a smoothie for my saturday morning breakfast too! yum!!!

  2. I totally just made this today after seeing your post a while ago. I had strawberries instead of apples (husband is allergic and was making some for him too) and the colour was not green so i think i will use mangos next time! totally loved and man is agave good! awesome share! thanks again!

    • Ooooh yeah mangos would be so good! Strawberries too! I actually have started adding a carrot too, and it comes out sooo ugly! Lol but still so delicious! πŸ™‚ glad you liked it!!

  3. Pingback: Cinnamon Raisin Peanut Butter | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  4. Pingback: Peach Popsicles | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

