Silly brownies!

A few weeks ago I made these AMAZING brownies. I don’t even know if you can call them brownies actually, as they’re so much more than just brownies! They QUICKLY became a favorite dessert around the house! Unfortunately, they’re not for you if you’re trying to loose weight, maintain weight, or care about your body and health what-so-ever. In fact if you do, you might as well just exit out of this post now! Before the pictures come!!! These things are deadly! Luckily, I’ve got a lot of people in my development that I can pawn all my baked goods off so they’re not sitting there in my kitchen waiting for me to eat them all…which I WILL do! I’ve been known to eat a whole cake! The great thing about this recipe is, you could make it with boxed ingredients. I try and do most of my food from scratch, but I usually use a Ghirardelli brownie mix. I make the chocolate chip cookie dough from scratch however. Yes…these brownies involve chocolate chip cookies…….getting hungry yet?

 

So, you want to start by preheating your oven to 375F. Like I said, I make my chocolate chip cookies from scratch. I use the recipe from the book The Joy of Vegan Baking (recipe to follow). The only thing I do differently is use a flax egg substitute rather than the Ener-G egg replacer. I like to add some extra nutrients to my recipes whenever I can! And making a flax egg couldn’t be easier! All you do is measure out 1 Tablespoon of ground (it’s important that is ground!) flax seeds and add it to 3 Tablespoons of room temp water. I like to mix it with my milk frother, because it’s a lot easier to clean than a food processor. It will start to get a gooey texture, and that’s what you want.

 

So after you’ve made your chocolate chip cookie dough, pat it down into a greased pan to make it nice an even. Because I halved the recipe, I used an 8×8 pan, but you could use a 9×13 if you plan on making the whole recipe.

 

Next, place a layer of cream filled cookies down on top. I use Stop and Shop’s Nature’s Promise brand, because they’re one of my favorites. I used Newman’s Own the first time, and I don’t know if it was a bad batch, or if my taste buds changed or what, but they were soooo funky tasting. So unless you know you really like them, I wouldn’t recommend those. And of course, there’s Oreos! Obviously you could use those, I personally just try to do as organic as possible. Especially when I’m making really, really bad for you junk food lol.

 

Next, get your brownie batter ready. I personally haven’t found a vegan brownie recipe that I love, so I’ve been using the boxed Ghirardelli mixes. I add a flax egg here as well. I’ve heard they’re vegan, but not 100% sure, so don’t go on me by that. Like I’ve said in the past, I’m not a vegan (anymore) but for the most part I do eat a lot of vegan food and try to cook vegan whenever I can.

 

Make sure it’s nice and even!

 

I had to give the hubby some love…unfortunately, no love for Roscoe!! (How couldn’t I post this doofy picture of my husband? lol Love you hunnieee πŸ˜€ )

 

I cooked my 8×8 pan for about an hour (start checking up on it about 40 mins though). Stick a toothpick through the center, when it comes out clean (obviously you’re not going to get a clean toothpick sticking it into a brownie, but you don’t want it to have wet batter on it).

 

I couldn’t really getΒ  a good picture of all the layers, because it was right out of the oven and all gooey (and delicious), but I found the next day you cut through it and get a nice clean cut through all the layers. Although, I was too busy eating it all up to take pictures!

 

Chocolate Chip Cookies (From The Joy of Vegan Baking)

  • 2Β  1/4 cups All Purpose Flour
  • 1 teaspoon Baking Soda
  • 1/4 teaspoon Salt
  • 1 cup/2 sticks Softened Earth Balance
  • 3/4 cup Granulated Sugar
  • 3/4 cup Firmly Packed Brown Sugar
  • 2 teaspoons Vanilla Extract
  • 4 and 1/2 teaspoons Ener-G in place of 3 eggs (I used flax eggs)
  • 6 tablespoons Water (don’t add this if you do flax eggs!)
  • 1 and 1/2 cups Semi Sweet Chocolate Chips
  • 1 cup Nuts (Optional) ( I didn’t use any)

Cream your butter, sugars and vanilla. Add your eggs. Mix your dry ingredients together and gradually beat into your wet mixture until a dough starts to form. Add your chocolate chips (and nuts if using) and mix until just combined. If you just want to make the cookies, you’d scoop out a tablespoon per cookie, and flatten them out a bit, then bake them at 375 for 8-10 mins.

If you’re not scared of adding a little more jiggle to your badonkadonk, then you MUST try these brownies! They’re simply heaven in your mouth!! πŸ™‚

 

 

P.S. So, you know how I said I went to my friends graduation party yesterday? Well, I got to use my cupcake stand! It fit two cupcake batches PERFECTLY πŸ™‚

 

And let’s take a closer look at the ADORABLE margarita cupcakes!

I know, you can’t handle the cuteness, right?! I got the recipe from Vegan Cupcakes Take Over The World. Sadly, I didn’t try them, because I don’t like tequila! But I still got to enjoy them with my eyes πŸ™‚

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! πŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “Home” and “About This Blog!” links at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

10 responses to “Silly brownies!

Leave a Reply

