Sugar skull Heat n Bond applique: A tutorial

This is the last post for all my sister’s birthday presents from yours truly! And might I say, it’s one of my favorites! I won’t be making the actual wrap, as I already said you can find the tutorial here, and I’m also not making the same exact sugar skull, as they’re too much fun and I always go crazy and try something new whenever I make them. What I WILL be doing, is showing you how I made the skull applique to iron onto a clothing item of choice. I’ll also show you some techniques to make painting the fabric easier. The artistic creativeness is up to you!

 

 

First of all, have you guys ever heard of Heat n Bond? This. stuff. is. AWESOME! There are literally endless possibilities with it, I can’t even begin to get into just how much you need to try it out! Here’s the one I used. You have to make sure to read the labels, because there are Heat n Bond’s that require sewing afterwards.

 

For this project, you’ll need some Heat n Bond, fabric, scissors, an iron, and (not shown here) paint (and fabric medium, if your paint isn’t suitable for textiles. After Googling sugar skulls, and checking out the different styles there are, I made a paper skeleton stencil, along with the eyes, nose, and mouth.

 

Cut a piece of the Heat n Bond that will fit your stencil.

 

Iron the fabric (the side WITHOUT the print) to the Heat n Bond.

 

Once you’ve cut out your shapes, you can start with the painting. I always use Decoart’s fabric medium to add to my paints, that way I can use whatever color I’d like. I started with the eyes (the hearts), and after figuring out where I wanted them placed, I traced around them gently with pencil, and drew petals around them. Using a pencil on the fabric may or may not work for you, depending on the type of fabric you use. My fabric was 100% cotton, and pretty thin. I recommend using cotton, as other fabrics may not iron well. And let me tell you from experience, it is NOT FUN to finish a beautiful project that you spent so long on, to have it melt onto the iron. It’s heartbreaking!! So always check before ironing! *And just a tip* after that terrible melting experience I had, I always iron with a fabric (or bandana) over my projects.

 

I painted in my petals, and should have done the whole heart as well, since the fabric I used for the eyes was pretty thin and you can see the paint under it. (Good to know for next time!)

 

For the dots around the skull, which I always seem to do with my sugar skulls, is done easily with the back of a paint brush.

 

Any other designs I made on the skull, I first drew with the pencil.

 

After your paint is nice and dry, iron your eyes, nose, and mouth on. I covered mine with a bandana, because I didn’t want to paint to get stuck to the iron and mess it up. Here’s how mine came out! šŸ™‚ Using a freezer paper stencil, and these painting techniques, you could also make my sugar skull bag that I had made a while ago. (Can you tell I’m obsessed with sugar skulls?!) šŸ˜‰

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! šŸ™‚ I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “Home” and “About This Blog!” links at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

 

Until tomorrow!!

3 responses to “Sugar skull Heat n Bond applique: A tutorial

  1. Pingback: Mexican Crafts to Make at Home « Global From Home·

Leave a Reply

