Amber’s bag: A freezer paper stencil tutorial

Continuing on with my sister’s birthday presents, here’s the pretty little bag I made her. For the life of me I cannot come up with a cute name for this bag, so it’s simply Amber’s bag, as I designed it specifically for her. It’s made with a handmade freezer paper stencil (of course it is, I’m obsessed!) and painted with fabric paint. It you’re familiar with using freezer papers as stencils on textiles, then you won’t have a problem with this, it’s really quite easy!

 

 

 

Start by measuring out a piece of freezer paper that’s the same size as your bag. This bag is a bit different than the one I bought for her. If you were interested in the original one, I got it from Michaels for about $10 (use a coupon! 🙂 ).

 

Draw the stem down the middle. To find the center, I just folded my paper in half and drew the lines right around the crease. I made my own leaf stencil, and used that to trace them on the side.

 

I started with the center leaf so I know it would be even on both sides. Then once I was done with the first side, I went over it with a sharpie.

 

Now, to get it nice and even and both sides, I folded down the center of the branch so I could see the sharpie though the paper, and traced it with the sharpie marker. See how both sides match perfectly?

 

Cut your design out, using an Xacto knife, leaving the bottom and top attached. This just keeps the paper together, making it easier to iron, and you’ll finish painting it up after you peel the stencil off.

 

Finally, iron it on! You may need to move it around a little to make sure it’s flat, but for the most part it usually lays flat on its own.

 

Now to prepare your paint. I like to use Decoart’s fabric painting medium. You add half the amount of the medium to the paint. If you can’t read it from the picture, my paint colors were Wild Iris, Dark Chocolate, Sweet Potato, and Crystal Blue all by Apple Barrel.

 

I painted the stem first, so that way if I got brown in any of the leafs, I can paint right over it easily because there’s more room.

 

Peel your stencil off and reveal your design! I didn’t save this one because it’s not that intricate, so I know I can always make it again no problem. My Bob Marley pillow on the other hand….I’ll save  forever! lol Now, occasionally, something like this will happen…..

 

But it doesn’t happen very often, and most of the time you can fix it really easily, using a sharp object such as an Xacto knife, to add some paint to the edge and blend it in.

 

Now, to finish it up, tape along the sides and edge of the stem, and paint. I used painters tape, but I bet just plain tape would work. I’d just practice on a piece of scrap fabric before trying it.

 

And that’s it! You have yourself a sweet new bag 🙂 Some blogs say to iron it lightly with some cloth over the paint, I suppose to let it set in, but I haven’t done that with the bags I’ve made, and they seem to be alright.

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! 🙂 I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “Home” and “About This Blog!” links at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

 

Until tomorrow!!

6 responses to “Amber’s bag: A freezer paper stencil tutorial

    • Thank you! It id fun, and really easy! Freezer paper stencils really are the best! If you try it out, I’d love to see it and if you’d allow me, I could put it on my fellow crafter’s picture page! 🙂

Leave a Reply

