Camera strap (with pocket!) tutorial

Remember my post that I had the picture of the camera strap that I made? This was a really long time ago, probably the 4th or 5th post I made, so all my new followers might not have seen it. Well, I finally made another one and I have a tutorial for you! (Woohoo!) It’s pretty easy, and as always, I tried to get as many pictures to be as clear as possible. My camera strap isΒ 1.5in x 27in (not including the smaller lanyard part, and I believe that’s the around the standard size of camera straps, but I could be wrong! Mine came with my Canon Rebel T2i.

 

 

 

I started by cutting two large strips of fabric that were 2’8″ x 4in, and two smaller strips that were 13in x 4in. You don’t want a shear material for this! (Notice the pup’s paws at the top of the picture….always needs to be right on top of a project I’m making! lol)

 

I then, tapered out the edges of all the strips, which I’ll show you an easy way of doing in the next few pictures… Start by folding your strip in half lengthwise so that the small edges are on top of each other.

 

Then, fold them down width wise, and cut where I put the dotted lines.

 

Here’s what the edges should look like once done! By doing it this way, you get both of the sides of one strip done at the same time and they’ll be perfectly even.

 

Now onto the pockets (the smaller strips). Lay your strip out flat.

 

Then, fold them together (WRONG sides together!) Pin the folded side down.

 

And sew! You want it to be neat as you’ll be seeing these stitches!

 

Take one of your longer strips and pin it together with one of the pockets (you want the longer strips WRONG side, pinned to the pockets RIGHT side!) I liked the way it looks with the opposing fabrics, but you may want to do something more simple.

 

Then, turn the pocket up so that the seam is hidden inside. This is when you could put a snap button, or some velcro down so that the pocket doesn’t open it. I didn’t have any at the time of making the tutorial, otherwise I would have!

 

Repeat with the other strip and pocket, and then once that’s done, you want to take the sides of the longer strips that are still unfinished and fold the ends and sew them so it’s nice and neat.

 

Now, take your two completed sides, and pin them together (RIGHT sides together now :)).

 

Right in the middle, on ONE of the sides, you want to mark off where you won’t be sewing. This is so you can slip the camera strap in and it’s nicely hidden.

 

Sew it up! And don’t forget to leave your threads on so you can knot them up a few times!

 

Although my strap is 1.5in thick, my lens cap (which I’ll be putting in the pocket) is larger, so I made the strap 3in wide.

 

I actually made the hole for my strap to go into a little big, but it closes up once it’s over your neck anyway, so you can’t see it. Eventually it will crease from sitting on your neck and it looks seamless! You could also iron it, but I’m lazy =P

 

Here it is all done!

 

And here’s what it looks like on πŸ™‚ Nice right?!

 

Not as pretty as my original one though, I LOVE this fabric!!! πŸ™‚

Until tomorrow!!

18 responses to “Camera strap (with pocket!) tutorial

  1. Mad Crafter! This is sooooo super awesome. Unfortunately the only thing I suck at is sewing otherwise I would a thousand of these straps! Keep up the pearler work πŸ˜€ πŸ˜€
    PS: Love your nailpolish colour

    • Thank you!! They’re fun right?! Can you hand sew? I mean, it would take forever, but it would be possible! Polish is awesome, right?! It’s all I’ve been wearing, I’m obsessed! πŸ™‚

      • Yeah sooo awesome! I keep meaning to buy some new colours πŸ™‚ I can hand sew but youre right, it would take foooorever! Maybe its time to learn the art of sewing!

      • Oh you HAVEEE to!! It really is so easy once you get the hang of it…yet I feel like I can’t say that because I’ve been sewing since before I was 5 so I don’t really remember when it got easy for me! lol but I’d assume it gets really easy once you practice! Just start with the little things. This is actually perfect, because it’s all straight lines, nothing crazy.

    • Thank you! πŸ™‚ I’ve seen so many out there, but some didn’t have pockets, or some weren’t tapered out towards the bottom and seamless…so I combined a few tutorials I’d seen and made the perfect strap! πŸ™‚

  2. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. “Hi, Neat post. There is a problem with your website in internet explorer, would check this… IE still is the market leader and a huge portion of people will miss your excellent writing because of this problem.”

    • Aw man, thanks for letting me know….I’ll have to get someone who knows their computer stuff to take a look…I wouldn’t know where to start!

  4. Thanks for breaking this down for us newbies! I am teaching myself to sew and I think I will be spending some time here! I credited your tutorial on my post with the finished product!

Leave a Reply

