Am I preggers or just really hungry…

…Is what I said while I made myself, my sister, and my husband dinner the other night. We didn’t have a lot of food in the house and I had to come up with something to eat! I started by looking on my pinterest and seeing what I should make, and came across a sweet potato falafel that looked sooo good, but I didn’t have all the ingredients…but I didn’t realize that until I started roasting the sweet potatoes. I had made some of my coconut saffron rice the other day and had a lot of leftovers and unfortunately that’s about all we had…So the sweet potato is roasting away in the oven, for what I didn’t know yet, and then it came to me…sweet potato and coconut saffron rice patties. But on what? Well, I had some pumpernickel bread that we had gotten from a farmers market for free because it was a day old (but still sooo sooo good!)…and I don’t know what it was, but I decided that they needed to go on that bread. Sweet potato, coconut…great flavors together, but on pumpernickel bread?! That’s too weird….but I NEEDED to make it once I got it into my head. I made some honey butter (or really honey earth balance), because there’s nothing better then honey butter on pumpernickel bread, and we all sat down and ate….and it was sooooo good. We continued to ask ourselves “is it so good for real, or are we just really hungry?” Didn’t matter to us then, but the next day I decided to make it again for my husband and I just so I could know if it was actually good or what…and it was! ๐Ÿ™‚ We even decided that although good,ย  it probably wouldn’t be as good on another type of bread….weird, I know! So here’s my recipe, and you should definitely try it!

Sweet potato coconut patties:

1 large sweet potato

1 cup coconut saffron rice, cooled

Oil for frying

Kale/spinach, or your favorite leafy green

1/4 cup coconut flakes

1/4 panko crumbs (+ more for dredging)

Honey butter (literally all I did was soften the butter, add honey and whipped it up)

Honey mustard (my husband put it on his, and loved it)

 

Dice, drizzle some oil, and roast your sweet potato at 450F for about 20 minutes.

 

I like mine to get a little carmelized, but it only has to be roasted until it’s soft enough to mash.

 

Once that’s done, mash it up using a potato masher, and add your rice, coconut flakes, panko crumbs, and season with salt and pepper.

 

You may need more or less of the coconut flakes and panko crumbs, depending on the size of your sweet potato. You want to be able to mold the patties without them sticking to your hands. I used about 1/2 cup of the mixture per patty, and it was perfect. No falling apart when frying or eating! ๐Ÿ™‚

 

Dredge your patty in a bowl ofย  panko crumbs. Be generous, this is what gives it a nice bite, once being fried!

 

Cover the bottom of a frying pan with an oil of your choice. The first time I used coconut oil, second time with canola, both were good! Make sure your oil is very hot before putting it in, as it can get oil logged if it’s sitting in warm oil for too long. Fry until golden brown on both sides, took about 4 minutes per side.

 

While your patty is frying, get your bread in the oven to toast a few minutes, and then spread some honey butter on. Be generous, it’s delicious! Drain your patty on a paper towel, and build your burger! I used spinach the first time, and then baby kale the second, both were great!

If you don’t like pumpernickel bread, try something else out! I bet Hawaiian bread would be awesome!! I just ran out of my bread (because I’ve eaten this burger 3 times since two days ago!), so I may need to make Hawaiian buns ๐Ÿ˜‰ **Update, I made Hawaiian buns, and it was SOOO good on them!!**

 

Until tomorrow!!

4 responses to “Am I preggers or just really hungry…

  1. Those look amazing. My husband is addicted to chickpea patties. I’ll have to switch things up a bit.

    • Mmmm I love me some chickpea patties! I’m would be eating another one of these right now, but I’m going to try making Hawaiian bread buns, and I have to wait for my husband to get home with some of the ingredients. But I think they will taste really good and totally worth the wait lol ๐Ÿ™‚

Leave a Reply

