Super easy (but really cute!) chandelier earrings!

So, as some of you may know, I’m a jewelry instructor at Michaels, and yesterday we held a meet and greet at the store. I had to make some samples of the things that we make in the classes, and I wore a pair of earrings that I had made a while back. Every time I wear these, people are so impressed and absolutely love them (sometimes that’s how I get people to join my classes! lol). While on my honeymoon in Hawaii (I know, I talk about it all the time, but go to Hawaii, and you’ll be the same way!), I came across these earrings, but they were $80! Although on vacation, and my honeymoon nonetheless, I couldn’t get myself to spend that much money on something I knew I could easily make. So I snapped a pic, and when I got home, I made them. And I’m so glad I did, because I LOVE them, and wear them all the time!

 

Here’s what you’ll need: (All of which I purchased at Michaels btw!)

  • A pair of round pliers
  • A pair of flat nose pliers (mine has a cutter at the end of it, but you may need a pair of wire cutters if yours doesn’t)
  • 2 teardrop beads (I used pearl teardrops)
  • An 18in chain (I use gold plated)
  • 2 2.5in flat head pins (I used gold plated for these as well)
  • 2 2.5in (or longer depending on how much wrapping you want to do) pieces of wrapping wire (I just used flat head pins and snipped the flat end off)
  • 2 French ear wire fixings

 

First, I wrapped both sides of the pin around the one side of my round nose pliers to make a loop in the center.

 

I put that aside, and started wire wrapping my pearl teardrop bead. I put one of the flat head (or in this case round head, because it’s all I had) pins through my bead and made a loop at the top. You want to leave some room to wrap the excess wire around underneath the loop.

 

I wrapped the extra wire around with my fingers (my wire was very pliable, so I didn’t need a tool) until there was a little left sticking out.

 

Using my flat nose pliers, I just squeezed the excess wire tightly so it tucked in and wouldn’t catch on anything (or poke me!)

 

Next, I get the first piece I worked on, and slip the wire wrapped bead onto the loop in the center.

 

Then, I made two loops at the bottom of my wire.

 

Now I cut my chains to the sizes I want. This depends on how dramatic you want your earrings to look. This is how long I cut mine…

 

Then, starting with the longest chain working down to the smallest, I put it in one of the loops that I made at the bottom of the earring.

 

I followed it up with the other side, the same way, starting with the longest chain, making sure not to tangle them.

 

And finally, I put my earring fixings on, and pulled open the wires holding the chains so they fall nicely!

Did I not say they were easy!? Now, the ones in Hawaii were a liiittle more intricate, but I’m more of a simple kind of girl, so I scaled them down a little. I love my version, they’re perfect for some beachwear, and I also made them with faceted glass teardrop beads for a more dressier look. Hope you try them out, you’ll get a lot of compliments, and the best part is when you say “I made them myself” 🙂

 

Until tomorrow!!

19 responses to “Super easy (but really cute!) chandelier earrings!

  1. These are super easy! I’ll have to get around to making them. They’re super adorable. Good job!

  2. Pingback: Another easy pair of chandelier earrings: A tutorial « diary of a mad crafter·

  3. Very cute!!! I’m gonna have to do this!!! Are you in Mdtn or Monroe I was thinking of doing a cake deca. class But I think jewerly is better.

    • Thanks! I’m in Monroe, but unfortunately we don’t teach these in class….nothing like these. And I haven’t been teaching for a few months now as no one was signing up 😦 I don’t know how the cake classes are in Middletown, but we got a great teacher in Monroe, and people are always signing up for the classes in Monroe!

Leave a Reply

