Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango (A delicious mouthful!)

This is my absolute favorite salad EVER. I make it allll the time, and serve it with everything! I can’t get enough of it! I got the recipe from one of my favorite books, Veganomicon. It’s perfect for a summer bbq or a picnic 🙂

 

 

 

Quinoa salad with black beans and mango: (serves: A LOT!)

1 mango, peeled and diced small

1 red pepper, seeded and diced

1 cup chopped scallions

1 cup chopped fresh cilantro

2 tablespoons red wine vinegar

2 tablespoons grapeseed oil

1/4 teaspoon salt

2 cups cooked quinoa, cooled

1 1/2 cups black beans, drained and rinsed (a 15-ounce can)

A few leaves of lettuce for plating

So since this salad is really simple, I don’t have a step by step on how to make it. I DO have a little tutorial on how I cut my peppers, though. It makes the process so easy an perfectly diced pieces!

I start by cutting the top and bottom off my pepper.

 

Using a knife, I cut the center out.

 

You want the whole thing out, seeds and everything!

 

Next, I cut down the side.

 

You want to be able to lay it out flat, if you need to cut it into a few sections, that’s fine. Slice any white that’s still attached the the walls of the pepper.

 

Finally, cut them into slices so you can dice them up!

Easy right?!

 

Dice your mango (I have a picture tutorial of how I cut mangoes easily here!), cilantro and scallions up as well and add your other ingredients except the oil and vinegar. I mix them together, with a milk frother so it emulsifies, and add it in at the end. I also add edamame when I have it, as it adds even more color. How beautiful is this salad!? And I can’t describe just how good it tastes (and not to mention healthy)!!

MAKE THIS SALAD!! 🙂

Until tomorrow!!

4 responses to “Quinoa Salad with Black Beans and Mango (A delicious mouthful!)

  1. Pingback: Easy Summer Pasta Salad: A Recipe | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

