Mod Podge a glass plate

I’ve always been obsessed with decorating glass plates, because you can put anything underneath, and it shows right through. The good thing about this, is that you can still use it, whereas if you paint on top of a regular plate, technically it wouldn’t be food safe. So, I bought some glass plates from the dollar store (yep, cheap project! :)) and used scrapbook paper to make some pretty adorable plates!!

 

 

I started off by placing my plate on top of my scrap paper and tracing around it.

 

I cut about 1/2in around the line, so that I had room for mistakes.

 

Then, I measured from the top of the plate to where the base started, so I could cut slits every inch, all around the circle. This is so that when I glue the paper down, it lays flat and doesn’t wrinkle.

 

I brushed a thin layer of mod podge all over the plate (you may want to do this over newspaper or something to catch any glue that may drip. I actually saved the paper that the plates were wrapped in)

 

Then, I centered my paper and pushed any air bubbles out, and starting with one tab at a time, pushed all the slits down along the sides. They’re not going to align perfectly, but if you get a paper with a pattern, you can’t notice it at all. Especially with this specific plate that has the ridges along the sides.

 

I brushed about 4 layers of mod podge over the top of the paper, letting them all dry in between, and finally cut the paper to be flush with the plate. It’s always better to have too much than too little! Once you glue the paper down, there’s no getting it off, and the first time I tried this I cut the paper too short and had to throw it out :(.

 

I made another, and I’ll probably make a lot more! I want to make an entire set…I’m addicted!

 

I used mine to put a candle on for the centerpiece of my table. As for cleaning, I’d hand wash it gently. The mod podge is supposed to be waterproof, but I wouldn’t take a chance washing it in the dishwasher.

Hope you try it out! They’d make great gifts!

 

Now, because my sister complained there was no Roscoe, pics lately, here’s one of my favorites from when he was a little pup!

Until tomorrow!!

31 responses to “Mod Podge a glass plate

  1. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  2. I Mod Podged scrapbook paper on my daughter’s scooter to replace the handles that had fallen off. It’s been two years and the handles still look great after rain showers and beatings, though some colors have faded from the sun a bit. These should hold up just fine with handwashing if you sealed them all the way with Mod Podge. Super cute idea!

  3. Love this!! Quick question can I use wrapping paper to mod podge a plate?? I’m trying to make my own cupcake tier/stand. Your response is greatly appreciated šŸ˜€

    • You could definitely use wrapping paper! The only thing is it can easily bubble because it’s thin, so just push out those bubbles as you lay it down! I’d practice on something you don’t care too much about at first, to get a feel for it šŸ™‚ hope that helped!

  4. Pingback: Dress up some glass plates. | Mod Podge Rocks·

  5. Which Modge Podge would you recommend? There are so many! I was thinking perhaps the “Outdoor” might hold up better to handwashing.

    • I used the satin one, but honestly, it probably wouldn’t matter too much as long as you paint a few (5 or so) coats. If you wanted to be sure though, then I’d go with the outdoor one šŸ™‚

    • It’s food safe because the mod Podge is under the plate (not where you put the food) but I would definitely not recommend putting it in the microwave! I would think it would cause the glue to melt….not sure if there’s a way to prevent that.

  6. I’ve been trying to Mod Podge some fabric onto the back of a glass plate, and it doesn’t stay – you can still lift it off after it’s completely dry.
    I thought I’d done this successfully some years ago, but I must have dreamt it! Is it possible, and how so?
    Or can I Only use a paper product to create this? I’d appreciate any input, thanks.

    • You should be able to….are you using the Mod Podge specifically for fabric? I’d say you’d have to pretty much drench the fabric to make it stick, and then once it dries I’d continue to brush more layers over it. Especially around the edges where it could lift up. Good luck! šŸ™‚

  7. Thank you so much for your reply! I have done arts and crafts for over 30 years but sometimes you need a little input from someone else for a new craft, and it is so much appreciated. Love the cyberspace name, by the way. It made me smile!

  8. OK, tried the fabric on the underside of the plate a second time & it did the same. Maybe there is too much size in the fabric? So I used a different tactic and Mod Podged it on the top of the plate. It worked really well! I have yet to test out how it does with washing the plate but the Mod Podge is a sealant so I can’t see any problem with putting food on it. I’m going to try washing the fabric first next time though and adhering it to the back of the plate like I did before because I’d prefer it. Putting it on the top makes the surface a little rough.
    Ta so much for your help though! Go, the Mad Crafters of this world!!
    We are definitely interesting folks and thank you for such an interesting site. Your craft work is a lot of fun.
    Ros.

  9. For ROZ, yes, you must wash your fabric before MP it to the back of the plate, as I learned this the hard way!

  10. can you use the same technique for a photo, instead of a pattern? I am not really sure where the picture is palced on the plate, after the Mod is brushed on the back of the plate. Is the Mod P “clear” when dried?
    manuel, a complete Novice. I need instructions for a dummy

  11. Hello! I tried this with some photos printed off the computer, but it was really hard to get all the bubbles out and you can especially see it on the spots that are darker… šŸ˜¦ what is the best way to solve that issue? Or is the problem that I just need to wait for it to dry longer? It’s been about ten hours since I did them. There are spots that look like splotches all over.

Leave a Reply

