Challenge #6 Stamped tea towels

For the first time since I’ve started my blog (not that it’s been that long, but still…), I missed a day! I’m sorry, but I was actually out hanging out with my sis and our friend Nicole, so I’m not that sorry because I had fun! =P Last minute, we decided to go up to New Paltz, and it couldn’t be a better day for it! The weather here has been kinda crappy lately, so I’m so glad that I was able to get out of the house and enjoy myself. So, even though I missed a post, I’m still going on with my challenge to myself. Today, I made some stamped tea towels. I might become obsessed…so be aware! πŸ™‚

 

 

I hadn’t really seen a specific towel I wanted to duplicate, I just wanted to stamp some towels! But I had to have a picture in my folder as a reminder, I got this one from PinterestΒ  a while back. As a reminder, anyone who knows where I got these pictures from, let me know so I can give credit where credit is due!

 

I started off with mixing some acrylic paint and a fabric painting medium, because I really this color and I didn’t come in a fabric paint. Fabric painting medium is AWESOME. I always have some on hand. All you have to do is mix 1 part acrylic paint to 1/2 part medium.

 

Then, I poured it out on a paper plate, and spread it out with a paintbrush. I did this, so that it wouldn’t be too thick, and wouldn’t go in the creases and the edges of the stamp.

 

Next, I dipped my stamp into the paint, making sure it was completely covered and clean around the edges. The first time, I started by stamping down on the towel, but because my stamp was so big and intricate, it didn’t get the middle. So I tried again, and the second time I began the same way, but I then, flipped the towel on top of the stamp and rubbed it with my fingers to get the whole stamp onto the fabric.

 

Worked like a charm!! How beautiful is this stamp?! I purchased it at Michaels on clearance a while back. I LOVE it.

 

Happy Mother’s day to all you wonderful ladies out there! You are appreciated!!! Now off to go see my momma! πŸ˜‰

Until tomorrow!!

19 responses to “Challenge #6 Stamped tea towels

  1. Pingback: DIY: Paisley stenciled tights for winter! | Clouds of Colour·

  2. Pingback: More stamping please!! « diary of a mad crafter·

Leave a Reply

