Tile coasters!!!

I knowwww tile coasters are all over pinterest, but I never realized just how awesome they are! First of all, they are dirt cheap. I’m talkin 16 cents per tile!!!! YES, 16 CENTS!! You can make an entire coaster set for less than a dollar! I used scrapbook paper, but you could do pictures (which I’m trying out next time), or painting on them, or stenciling, or whateverrr you’ddd likeee! I went to Home Depot and picked up four plain white tiles. There were some other white ones that looked similar, but they were I think 85 cents or around that. The only difference I noticed, was the sides were painted. But I just painted them myself, and it looked fine. I made these ones for my in-laws for Christmas, and I think I might go crazy and make a set for just about everyone I know, because they’re so much fun!

 

Here’s what the sides looked like before.

 

I used a Martha Stewart paint, since it goes on just about everything, and it looked perfect.

 

Once it dried, which was really fast, I put it on my piece of scrapbook paper, traced around it, and then cut it.

 

I made sure they fit on there perfectly, and cut 3 more.

 

I applied a thin layer of mod podge on the top with a foam brush.

 

I then, put my paper on top, rubbing any air bubbles out, and sliding into place, brushed a coat of mod podge on top.

 

Once it dried, I applied another 2 coats of mod podge over them all. So all together, I brushed 3 coats of mod modge over them all making sure to let them dry in between coats.

 

Once the mod podge completely dried, I sprayed Crystal Clear acrylic coating over them. I sprayed 3 coats, letting each dry in between layers. MAKE SURE YOU DO THIS OUTSIDE!!! It stinks! And clearly isn’t healthy to be breathing in!

 

I bought, in the loose scrapbook papers section at Michaels, a sheet of adhesive cork, which I cut 4 squares out of to put on the bottom of my tiles to prevent scratches on any surfaces.

 

I pressed down pretty firmly, so it doesn’t peel off.

 

And they’re all done!

 

Wrap them up in a cute bow, and you’re all set! Tile coasters! 🙂

I just love something that you can personalize to fit someones style exactly! They’re so easy, you gotta try making some!

 

Until tomorrow!!

7 responses to “Tile coasters!!!

  1. Pingback: What to do with all this scrap paper!? « diary of a mad crafter·

  2. Love your blog!….I might have gone through almost all your posts…..it’s just so full of creativity yet simple. Your idea of ‘Tile coasters’ is next on my diy list :). Also will add your blog on my blogroll.
    – Archana

    • Wow! Thank you so much for all the kind words! You don’t know how much that means to me! 🙂 So glad I could inspire you 🙂 🙂 Thanks again and have a great day!!

  3. Pingback: 2 Step tile trivets! « diary of a mad crafter·

  4. Pingback: Vacation Memory Jar: An Inspiration « diary of a mad crafter·

  5. Pingback: Stamped Coasters! Monthly Challenge |·

  6. Pingback: Christmas Gifts of 2012 | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

