Healthy, and tasty banana bread? Yup!

I’ve been trying to find a vegan banana bread that tastes good and doesn’t have a pound of sugar, a ton of earth balance, and white flour, for a really long time now. I’ve tried a few and just…not great. I tried one the other day, and the texture was great, but there was NO banana flavor what-so-ever. I played around with the recipe, and got a great tasting banana bread and great texture!

 

Banana bread: (Recipe adapted from 100daysofrealfood.com)

2 ¼ cup whole-wheat flour
¾ teaspoon baking soda
¼ teaspoon salt
4 ripe bananas, mashed
¼ cup soy milk (or another kind of milk you like) mixed with 1/2 teaspoon apple cider vinegar (it will curdle, and this is how you make vegan buttermilk ;))
¼ cup agave
1/3 cup coconut oil
1 teaspoon vanilla

1/2 teaspoon almond extract

 

My pup Roscoe loves his bananers, let me tell you, if we have one on our hands he won’t stop staring until you give him some! He’s SO his mother’s son lol. Obviously, before I mashed them up, I gave him a little piece 🙂

 

Mash up your bananas (I mash them along with the other wet ingredients).

 

Get your pan ready, by greasing and flouring it. I used a 8 1/2 x4 pan, and I don’t think I’d go any larger than that.

 

This is what your wet mixture should look like once you’ve mashed your bananas.

 

Next, mix your wet into dry, until it just comes together, don’t over mix, or you’ll get a tough dough.

 

Pour, or really scoop (because it’s really thick) the batter into your pan, and bake at 350F for 40-50 minutes. The first time I made it, it was done after 40 minutes, the second time was a bit longer.

 

Once a toothpick comes out clean, it’s all done! Let it sit in the pan for about 10 minutes, and then revert onto a cooling rack.

 

Yummmm, let’s take a closer look… 😉

Oh yeahh, smear some peanut butter and drizzle some honey on a slice, and you’re good to go 🙂

Until tomorrow!!

5 responses to “Healthy, and tasty banana bread? Yup!

  1. Pingback: Banana Bread Truffles | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

