Macarooooons!

Oh how I loOove macaroons. The coconut kind that is. I’ve never had the french kind. As cute as they are (and they’re damn cute) I’m not a big fan of eggs….Anyway…these guys are so good, and SO easy. They come from Raw Food Real World, and they’re supposed to be raw, but I can’t afford ACTUAL raw (heated under 115 degrees) almonds and I doubt my coconut flakes are raw either. But they’re still on the healthy side (plus!) and they’re delicious (double plus!). These are so good, they’re dangerous, so I halved the recipe and still got a buttload of cookies.

 

Vanilla or Chocolate Macaroons:

3 cups dried, unsweetened coconut flakes

1 1/2 cups cocoa powder (For vanilla cookies, I left this out and subbed it with almond meal that I get from Trader Joe’s. You could also use the almond meal from making almond milk!)

1 cup maple syrup (I use agave)

1/3 cup virgin coconut oil

1 tablespoon vanilla extract

1/2 teaspoon salt

Mix all your ingredients.

And try not to eat it all….because it’s damn goood!

 

What they DON’T write in the book, is to stick the dough in the freezer until it gets hard enough to scoop, because I didn’t know to do that, and my cookies were falling apart when I dropped them on the tray. And I was tired, and annoyed, and I had a baby tantrum lol.

So once it’s hard enough, scoop them on your mesh tray. I dehydrated mine, but I’m sure you could stick them in the oven for a little bit and it would do the same thing, just much much faster.

Check out them cuties!!

You can see that halving the recipe still made a decent amount of cookies.

 

I dehydrated mine for 24 hours….but like I said, if you don’t have a dehydrator, or are impatient, you could bake them (probably 350F for like, 10-15 mins), just keep an eye on them that they don’t burn or dry out.

Mmmmmmmmm…

Store them in an airtight container, or else they’ll dry out pretty fast!

 

Until tomorrow!!

One response to “Macarooooons!

  1. Pingback: Almond milk for Dom! « diary of a mad crafter·

Leave a Reply

