Almond milk for Dom!

A few weeks ago (sorry it took so long!!) My cousin asked if I’ve ever made almond milk before, and if I had a recipe I use. I have, and I do! I use the one from Raw Food Real World (from the restaurant I used to work at!) and it comes out delicious. The thing with almond milk is it’s kind of watery, so it’s not something that you’d really put in coffee or tea, but it tastes damn good on it’s own!

 

 

 

Almond milk:

1 cup almonds

4 cups filtered water

1/4 cup agave or honey (or to taste)

1 Tablespoon lecithen (I’ve never used it, it’s supposed to emulsify the milk, but I just give it a good shake before I drink it)

Pinch of salt

Few drops of natural extract (I used some vanilla)

Start by soaking your nuts. They probably double in size, so you want to put them in a container that can fit double the amount. You want to soak them for at least 4 hours. If you soak them for a few days, change the water when it gets murky.

 

Once you’ve drained and rinsed your almonds, put them in the blender along with your water.

 

Blend, blend, blend until the almonds are all ground up.

 

Start by separating out the large pieces of almonds with a strainer, pressing down with a spatula to get as much liquid as you possibly can.

 

This is a nut milk bag (or a nut sack as we called it at work =P) If you make nut milks regularly, this is a GREAT thing to have! If you don’t have one, you can use several layers of cheesecloth. You want to strain out the nuts COMPLETELY, but save the almond meal, because you can use it to make my macaroons!

 

Once you’re all done straining (I usually do it twice) re-blend the milk with the rest of the ingredients. Make sure that you clean the blender before, to get rid of any almond pieces from the first blending. Here is the agave and vanilla extract I used. I don’t like to use an alcohol based vanilla in my milks and smoothies, because it’s way to strong for me, this vanilla is vegetable glycerin based.

 

Pour your milk into an airtight container. I like to use ball jars.

 

Slap a label on your container, and you’re all set!

 

Until tomorrow!

Leave a Reply

