Homemade BAGELSSSSS!

So, today I made one of my favorite breakfast foods…even though I can eat them for lunch, and dinner as well! This recipe took a while to perfect…I made them before going into culinary school, didn’t come out great. Made them IN school, didn’t come out great…they came out more like bagel looking bread loafs. And then finally, I decided to try again a few months ago. I used this recipe, and the first time I read the oven time wrong and so I tried going with it and hiring the temp and just keeping them in longer, and itΒ  didn’t work out. The second time I followed it to a T and they came out hard, and way too bread like. And I suppose 3 times IS the charm, because I changed things around, reading other bagel recipes and using my knowledge of what went wrong the first few times and they came out perfect! Here’s my recipe and lots and lots of pictures showing how I made them!

 

Homemade Bagels (makes 8)

4-5 Cups bread flour (I’ve also cut it half and half with whole wheat flour, and they come out great!)

2 Packages of active dry yeast

3 Tablespoons honey (Yeast loves sugar! I’ve forgotten it before, and the yeast wouldn’t move. As soon as I put the honey in, it went crazy.)

1 teaspoon salt

1 1/2 cup of hot water (you want it to be hot, but not too hot where it will kill the yeast. If you can stick your finger in it for a few seconds and it’s not too hot, you’re good.)

Oil, for oiling the bowl the dough will be rising in

3 Tablespoons brown sugar

Toppings of your choice

 

I use my kitchen-aid, but by all means, you can knead it by hand. But if you do use a kitchen-aid, you’ll need the dough hook attachment, which looks like this….

 

Alright, let’s make some bagelsss!

 

Start by warming up your water, and adding your honey to it.

You wanna mix up the honey until it’s fully incorporated.

 

Put the yeast in your bowl, and pour your hot water and honey mixture over the yeast.

 

You don’t have to wait the full 10 minutes to proof your yeast… if your yeast is alive, in a few minutes, it will look like this…

See how it’s starting to foam up?

 

This was after about 5 minutes… as long as you see it moving around, you’re good to go.

 

So now, you can start adding your flour and salt. You wanna start with one cup and at the lowest speed,Β  otherwise you’ll have flour all over yourself.

Scrape your sides down as you go!

 

Add another cup, and again, use the lowest speed. After the third cup is when it starts coming together.

This is what it’ll look like…

 

But it will be really sticky…you don’t want it that sticky.

 

Add your 4th cup of flour, and put it on low speed.

It will look like this, where you think “oh no, I added too much, it’s not coming together!” You didn’t, and it will….just let it go for a while longer.

 

Now, at this point, you want to feel it, and if it’s still sticky add more flour. You only want to add 1/4 a cup at a time, or you might add too much and it will be too dry. Today, I used 4 1/4 cup of flour. Once it comes together and it feels good, let it knead on a higher speed for about 10 minutes.Β  But watch it, or else you could have a runaway kitchen-aid! I walked away for a bit, and when I came back it was going towards the edge of the counter. Also, you’ll want to lock it!

Here’s my pretty dough ball all done πŸ™‚

 

Oil up your bowl, and stick your pretty dough ball in the bowl and roll it around, so the oil is evenly distributed. This is so that when the dough rises, it won’t stick to the bowl.

 

Place a damp towel over your bowl, and put it in a warm spot to rise. I have a dehydrator, which has a bread rising temperature on it. Let it rise for one hour.

 

When your dough has 10 minutes left to rise, you wanna turn your oven on (400F), so that it will be preheated by the time your bagels are boiled and topped, and get your boiling water ready. So fill a pot up with water and your 3 Tablespoons of brown sugar . You want the water to be a good 2 inches from the top so when you put the bagels in, it doesn’t overflow.

Look how much mine had risen! it actually got stuck on the towel a bit. Punch that dough down and knead it until it’s all even. Take all your frustrations out on it!

 

Roll your dough out into a snake so it’s easy to cut into 8 even pieces.

 

Here’s about how big your pieces should be.

 

You wanna make a hole in the center or your little dough ball, and then roll it around to make the hole bigger. You want them to be bigger than baked bagels, because they puff up and the hole gets smaller.

 

This is what you want them to look like. I know they look small, but trust me, after the boiling, and the baking, they get much bigger.

 

Once, all your bagels are shaped, let them rise while your water gets to a boil. Once your water gets to a roaring boil, drop 3 bagels at a time (or less depending on how wide your pot is. Your don’t want to overcrowd, as they get much bigger.) Boil them for 1 to 2 minutes on each side.

After boiling, look at the size difference.

 

After the boiled bagels have cooled just enough to touch them, sprinkle your toppings on both sides (I can’t STAND one sided bagels!!!) over a bowl. You want to do it while they’re still hot, because the toppings will stick better.

 

Put your topped bagels on a pan lined with parchment paper, and bake them for 10 minutes. Take them out, flip them, and bake for another 5 minutes. If your plan on eating them all right away, you can bake them for 10 minutes on each side, I just like to toast them, so I don’t want to over bake them. But once they cool off, they get super chewy and delicious, so I like to bake them for only 15 minutes.

Here are my little beauties all baked!! πŸ™‚

 

I made sesame, poppy, and everything (my favorite :))

 

Mmm mmm mmmmmm…

 

Until tomorrow!!

10 responses to “Homemade BAGELSSSSS!

  1. Pingback: Tuscan Bean Soup « diary of a mad crafter·

  2. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Pingback: Pumpkin Bagels: A Recipe | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  4. Pingback: Mini Hand Held Fruit Tarts | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

