Vegan pancake muffins for breakfast, and some penne vodka for dinnahhh

So, a few weeks ago, I came across a post on pinterest; puffins (pancake muffins) and I didn’t wait a minute to make them! What could be better for breakfast?! Pancakes and I have never been friends…not only do I burn the first one, but I usually manage to screw the whole batch up. So to me, these were ingenious. I got the original post from here and all I did was change it up a bit to make it vegan.

*Something you should know, if you begin to follow my blog, I mostly eat vegan food, but I do eat dairy now once in a while. But if I can veganize something easily, I don’t hesitate.*

So anyway, here’s what you need for vegan pancake muffins…

Vegan pancake Muffins:

1 cup unbleached flour

1 teaspoon baking powder
1/2 teaspoon baking soda
1/4 teaspoon salt
2 tablespoons sugar
2/3 cup soymilk

1/2 T vinegar (I used apple cider vinegar)
1 egg replacer (I used ener-G)
2 tablespoons pure maple syrup
2 tablespoons melted earth balance
1/2 cup chocolate chips (I used semi sweet, but use what kind you like!)

Don’t forget some music! Jack Johnson’s pandora station’s my favorite to listen to while cooking!

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Preheat your oven to 350 F degrees, and mix your flour, baking powder and soda, salt, and sugar in one bowl. Mix your soymilk and apple cider vinegar together to let curdle…you just made vegan buttermilk! 🙂 Next, get your egg replacer ready by whipping it up, I use a milk frother, but you could use a mini food processor or try whipping it by hand with a little whisk.

So, I normally use flax eggs, but for something like this, I don’t want to change the taste too much, so I’ll use the Ener-G egg replacer once in a while.

Look how beautiful that whips up with the milk frother, that’s exactly what you want it to look like.

Now, melt your earth balance. I nuked it a few seconds in the microwave, but if you’re against microwaves or don’t have one, you can always do it in a pan over the stove. Add all the rest of the ingredients together except the chocolate chips, which if you don’t want to use, by all means, leave them out! And then mix the wet into dry. Don’t mix too hard, because you don’t want to work up the gluten in the flour and get chewy and hard muffins, so mix until most of the lumps are gone, and then go ahead and add the chocolate chips in until they’re just mixed throughout the batter.

Scoop by the tablespoon, into a greased mini cupcake/muffin pan and bake for 8-9 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean.

All ready to go into the preheated oven!

Patient hubby waiting for some breakfast!

Mmm Mmm Mmmmm

I actually baked them for a minute or two too long…they tasted fine, but you want them to be slightly lighter in color. I got distracted by this guy!

My Roscoe (:

Now, all that’s left is to dip them in some maple syrup and eat them up!


So, later today today the hubs and I went to his parents to help his dad take apart and replace the sheet rock in the bathroom. So I had no time for crafts, but we got home and I cooked up some dinner….Vegan penne vodka. From one of my favorite books….

Veganomicon!

It’s SO easy to make, and comes out amazinggg. The only thing you actually have to do is cut up some garlic, other than that you’re just putting everything in a sauce pan and simmering it.

Penne Vodka:

2 tsp olive oil

4 cloves minced garlic

1/4 tsp crushed red pepper

28-ounce can crushed tomatoes (I used diced, and because you blend it, it’s fine)

1/4 cup vodka

1/4 tsp dried thyme

1/4 tsp dried oregano

1/2 tsp salt

a few dashes fresh black pepper

1/2 cup sliced or slivered almonds (I grind them up using my bullet blender)

1/4 cup finely chopped fresh basil, plus a little extra for garnish

1/2 pound penne

So you wanna get your water starting so that by the time your sauce is ready to simmer, you can have your pasta boiling.

Choppin’ up that garlic!

Preheat a saucepan over medium/low heat. Add the oil, garlic and crushed red pepper to the saucepan and saute for about a minute, until fragrant, being careful not to burn. Add the crushed red tomatoes, vodka, thyme, oregano, salt and black pepper.

Check out the color before I blend it…

Cover, and turn the heat up a bit to bring to a simmer for about 20 minutes, stirring occasionally. Meanwhile, add the pasta to the water and cook according to package directions.

Once the sauce has simmered for 20 minutes, add the almonds. Use an immersion blender to blend the almonds into the sauce until creamy and only slightly grainy. Because I blend the almonds before hand, it’s a lot quicker and you don’t get any large pieces of almond).

Here’s the blender that I use, but I don’t see why you couldn’t use a regular blender.

Blend, blend, blend until smooth.

It should look like this…

Look at that beautiful color!

The pasta should be done by now, so drain and set aside. Add the basil to the sauce, and mix the sauce and pasta together in the pot. I like to finish it off by cooking it a little over the stove to let the pasta absorb the sauce a bit more.

All done! Look how creamy and delicious that looks, and all from almonds. Who knew!?

Until tomorrow!!

4 responses to “Vegan pancake muffins for breakfast, and some penne vodka for dinnahhh

Leave a Reply

