Recycled Tissue Box

This tutorial is pretty much the same as my wrapped bottle tutorial, only this one uses a tissue box. It’s a little time consuming, but the results are pretty awesome, so in my opinion, it’s worth it. No one would ever be able to tell it was a tissue box when looking at the after picture! It looks like a little woven basket! If you wanted to make a larger version of this, you could use a thicker rope, so you’re not sitting there for hours wrapping the thin jute string around it!

I started by taping the top of the tissue box, so when I cut the top off, it wouldn’t fall apart. After cutting the top off, I started gluing the jute on. I used a hot glue gun, and when I do this again, I’ll start from the bottom, rather than the top, though it’s not too big of a deal. For the most part, I glued every other time I wrapped around the entire box, but it doesn’t have to be exact. I really only put a little glue down in the middle and then the corners. Once I went around the entire box, I went around again a few times and covered up any spots that were spaced out. tissuebox2

 

I made a little liner to go inside (I laid the fabric over the box, added about 3 inches to each sides length so it can go over the edges, and sewed the sides up), and it was all done!tissuebox1

Don’t forget to follow me on Facebook!! Check it out if you want to see updates on what I’m working on, or whether or not I’ll post that day!

Be sure to check out my BRAND NEW Etsy store!! I only have a few items as of now, but it’s growing! :)

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!! (Hopefully I don’t loose power with this crazy snow storm coming our way!!!)

16 responses to “Recycled Tissue Box

  1. You just solved my lamp shade problem thank you….Perfect size and shape. Turned upside down. then just have to add the metal attachment that I can get from a Thrift store. Woo hoo…I love you…

  2. Pingback: DIY Tissue Box Gift Tags | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Pingback: Designer MacGyver: 8 Great Tissue Box Crafts for Cold & Flu Season |·

Leave a Reply

