DIY Stocking Hanger Plaque

I don’t know about you, but I don’t have a beautiful fireplace or mantel in which I can hang my stocking from for Christmas. I used to put command hooks on the wall (which didn’t look very nice) and hang them from there. When I moved to my apartment I’m in now, there was no room on any of the walls to put the hooks. I either had pictures up, or it would be too random of a spot. So I looked around online at what people did with their stockings in my kind of situation. I found this amazzzzing idea of making a plaque with hooks to hang them from. I can’t tell you how excited I was to see this! It was suchhh a great idea, and you can make it completely your style! Last year I made one…it was really cute, but I’ve never really been able to get my Christmas style down. Finally this year, I think I got it! Honestly, I’m not a huge fan of the traditional green and red to decorate my apartment with. I’m more of a naturalist. I love browns, off whites, and simple, yet pretty. I have just about a million styles I like, but I just love shabby chic, country chic, and rustic, etc. I decided to make a new plaque this year to more fit my style (don’t worry though, my old one is going to a friend who loved it when she saw it last year! I just have to get off my butt and mail it to her haha). Remembering my friend had left her Cricut at my house, I used it to cut out the letters. The cartridge I used was Cindy Loo, and I used what I believe is the only font they have on it, which is this adorable Ornamental Bodoni.

 

I started by painting the wooden plaque (that I purchased at Michaels for less than $8 (and I used a coupon!). I chose a nice not too dark, not too light brown. It appears really dark in the pictures, but it’s just the lighting. Once the paint dried, I played around with the letters until I liked where they were placed. I made a light mark using pencil (so you can erase it later) so I knew where to place the letters. Using Mod Podge, I glued them all down, and then went over the whole plaque with the Mod Podge a few times.

I found these pretty dresser knobs at Hobby Lobby that I bought and tinted with some gold paint, and drilled holes in the bottom of the plaque and screwed them in. I decided with an arrangement of lace, small string of pearls, brown burlap, a wavy ivory ribbon to hang it up. I just used a staple gun to hold them up, and it worked fine. I just tied a knot so it didn’t pull through.

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! :) I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

16 responses to “DIY Stocking Hanger Plaque

  1. This is brilliant! :) Love this… we have a nice fireplace to hang our stockings but I can think of many friends who don’t. I’ll definitely pass this on. ;)

  2. I know! We don’t have a fireplace either. Right now they’re hung on the banister. They ‘appear’ under the tree on Christmas morning. I love this! I need to do a sign soon for Christmas. What adhesive did you use for the letters? I’ve had the worst luck with a lot of the spray ones lately.

    • Thank you! :) I actually used Mod Podge. I’ve never used spray adhesive, they scare me! I feel like I’m going to breathe it in and clog up my lungs lol. At least you have a banister! That’s always a cute spot to hang things during Christmas!

      • Ok thanks! Now be very specific. Which modge podge and did you apply it all over the board or just under the letter stencils? Can you tell the adhesive scares me now too?

    • Hahah nothing worse than a bad experience with glue! I used the Mod Podge Satin for both placing the letters down, and going over the whole plaque. I only used a really thin layer for the letters, and then put 2 layers over it all to seal it all in.

  3. Pingback: DIY Christmas stocking holder. - Mod Podge Rocks·

  4. this is awesome!!! in my apartment in england i had a corner shelf that was perfect for hanging our stockings and shelf decor but in this new house, no corner shelf! what to do?!?! this is BRILLIANT!!! I’m so glad i finally got a chance to check out your blog on a real computer, its been crazy trying to settle in esp with the kids sick :( oh man oh man i gotta find me a micheals close by asap!!! :) thanks for the brilliant post! i hope to blog again soon what ive been doing!

    • Oooh! I’m so glad you found this helpful! That’s how I felt when I saw the original one last year, because I have noooo where to hang my stockings in this apartment, so I was so excited to see an alternative to the traditional fireplace/mantel/shelf. I literally went and got the plaque the day after and it was done and up on the wall within an hour lol. Aww poor babies, hope they get better soon, me hope you don’t catch what they have!

  5. Pingback: DIY Christmas Decorations | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

    • I used my friend’s Cricut to cut out the letters. The cartridge I used was Cindy Loo, and I used the Ornamental Bodoni font.

Leave a Reply

