DIY Chevron Felt Flower Pillow

I’m excited about this post, because I actually forgot about this little project until a few days ago! I saw these awesome pillows at a store that I shop at alllll the time, but the colors (as adorableee as they were) wouldn’t have matched my home decor, so I took a picture so I’d remember to make them. I was actually going to make the chevron pattern on a plain white fabric, and then I saw the exact fabric at Hobby Lobby, so it was just too perfect to pass up! And of course, I used a coupon, so even better :)

Here are the original ones I saw at the store. Cute right?! I love grey chevron, but I have like, no grey in my house what-so-ever.

 

I chose the green chevron print because I have a lot of colors that would match it. It’s literally the same fabric as the original pillows, I was so excited!! Apparently, Roscoe was too :)

 

I wanted to cry when I started counting how many circles there was on this pillow, so instead I just made my flower a bit smaller, and I ended up cutting about 65 circles, (and that’s only one pillow! I still have to make the other). It was surprisingly not as bad as it seems though, because I used a method of getting them done. I cut a circle out of some cardboard, and used it as my guide. It was probably about 2in in diameter. I put the circle over the felt, cut a square, and went around the cardboard circle.

 

I used a glass trifle bowl (actually the one I used for my pumpkin tiramisu!) to use as a guide for the first layer, and then continued the second layer layering the circles over each other slightly. I used hot glue, (so put a piece of cardboard or thick paper under the fabric) as it works really, really well on fabric, and also, these pillows, as pretty as they are, aren’t really for laying on, so these petals won’t come off for anything (trust me, I wanted to move one of the pieces and it wouldn’t budge!). For the third layer, I glued and pinched one side at the very edge just enough to give it some dimension. I finished the rest of the layers like this. Make sure there are no glue strings, or glue showing!! You don’t want your pillow lookin’ like a hot mess! (I know that last picture looks like there’s hot glue all over the center, but it’s the lighting, I swear! I sewed the edges after I made the flower, because you need room to put the cardboard under the fabric. I stuffed it, and sewed the hole closed using this method.

 

I can’t tell you how much I love this pillow! My sister has already demanded requested that I make her a pair haha!

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! :) I have a page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

 

11 responses to “DIY Chevron Felt Flower Pillow

    • Thank you! Yeah, let me tell you…I should have just cut all the circles out for both of the pillows and the same time, because I am soooo not getting the second one done anytime soon! Lol

Leave a Reply

