Rope Wrapped Bottles: A Tutorial

I don’t know about you, but I’m loving the rope (and twine) trend that’s going around. I’ve always loved that look, but now that Pinterest has been born, I get so much inspiration from it. I’ve seen a lot of ways to reuse bottles, and jars and what not. Painting, wrapping with yarn, spray painting designs, glittering them up (I can go on and on), and I thought to myself how cute would it be to wrap them in some rope!? I’m sure these are out there too, as there’s just about EVERYTHING on Pinterest. I asked a friend at work where I could get a thin rope from and she suggested gardeners twine from Home Depot.So I set out for Home Depot (SUCH a fun store, I could browse for hours and only dream of having just about every tool in the store), and looked around for some gardeners twine. I couldn’t find it in the garden section, so I asked someone in the front, and she called over to the gardening section. They said it was back there, so I dragged my lazy bum back to the garden, and asked the women there where I could find it. She didn’t know where, so she went on her walkie and asked. “It’s in the aisle after the (something I didn’t know).” And because I didn’t want to seem stupid I didn’t ask what it was, I just walked back to where she pointed, and looked around. Couldn’t find it! Thankfully there was someone who worked there, so I asked them. They didn’t know where it was either! Luckily I’m not the type of person to get annoyed, I was actually laughing in my head thinking how I’m sending everyone at Home Depot on a gardeners twine hunt. So he asked on his walkie now, and someone said where it was, and they didn’t think we had any left. So FINALLY, the guy suggested looking in the aisle where they sold rope. I looked over there (of course all the way at the other side of the store lol) and low and behold, the perfect rope to use! The spool was less than $3, and this one in particular was actually called jute. I found it to be a perfect size for what I was doing, not too thick, but not too thin. So finally after all that, I bought it and went home to play!

 

I decided to go with a beer bottle, because it’s small enough to finish in a few minutes.

 

I started by tying the string right above the lip (where it indents, that way when i got back over it it wouldn’t be too noticeable).

 

Then, I wrapped up to the mouth, using a hot glue gun to make sure it didn’t budge as I wrapped. Next time I think I’ll just start at the lip and wrap downward, since the hot glue worked really well.

 

I wrapped, wrapped, and wrapped some more, making sure to push the strands together so none of the bottle showed through.

 

Once I got to the bottom, I started gluing (very thin) every inch or so, and pushed the rope against the already wrapped section to secure it. When I couldn’t see the base anymore, I cut the rope and glued the end down.

 

All done!! I love it! I’ll definitely be making more. A bunch of them in different sizes would look really cute on a shelf.

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! :) I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow! (maybe…going to a family BBQ, so we’ll see if I have the time!!)

16 responses to “Rope Wrapped Bottles: A Tutorial

    • Thanks! Ooooh on the bouquet would be beautifullllll, you definitely should! You’re getting married in October right? Where are you getting married? I love weddingssss, I got so ridiculously stressed out planning mine, and a month after it was over I missed it so much…even the invitations, which were soooo annoying lol hope you’re having fun planning it and not getting stressed out!

      • The wedding is at Sundance Resort, where we got engaged. It’s so pretty! I think I wrote about it… Love Rocks is the title of the post, I think. I love weddings, too- but it’s funny how the time just creeps up on you! It’s coming up fast!

      • WOW! Just checked the Sundance Resort out, the pictures look amaziiing, can’t even imagine what it looks like in person. You must be sooo excited! I read your Love Rocks post before, but I just reread it, so sweet! I love the pictures, and I had commented this already, but my goodness, that ring is beautiful! And yes, they definitely creep up on you! lol I remember being like “well we have 9 months until we get married, so I don’t need to worry about anything” and then all of a sudden it was like 4 and I’m like crap, I should have been getting things done this whole time! lol

  1. Glad you found the twine and like it! I use it for alot of stuff and love splitting it apart for smaller threads or fraying the edges for a rougher look! Keep an eye out too for the $1 spot at Target, they sometimes have that garden twine too, stock up when it goes on clearance. When I see you next, I will tell you about another project I have done using that twine, bottles and glass paint!

    • Ahhh I bet it would be there just about now, since the gardening stuff is out. I’ll definitely have to look! Thanks for the tip Kelly!! Of course it wasn’t until after all that, that my mom said she had some!! LOL I don’t know why I didn’t think to ask her…I wonder if the dollar store would have? I love this stuff!!!

  2. Pingback: Easy Handmade Twine Belt: A tutorial | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  3. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  4. Pingback: Recycled Tissue Box | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

Leave a Reply

