Lentil Burgers: A Recipe

As you may know, I’m a vegetarian, and I like love to eat! I make this lentil meatloaf recipe that I got from Food.com a lot during the winter, and it is soooo good! My husband loves it, my sister loves it, and I sure love it. Well, I wanted to make a burger the other day, and because I loved the lentils as a meat substitute in the meatloaf, I wanted to make one using them. I’m so glad I did, because these burgers are great!

Lentil Burgers:

15 oz cooked lentils (or 1 can)

1 tablespoon tomato paste

1 tablespoon bbq sauce

1 tablespoon ground flax + 3 tablespoons water mixed (this is a flax egg!)

1/2 teaspoon salt

1/4 teaspoon pepper

1/4 teaspoon chipotle chile powder

1/4 teaspoon paprika

Dash cayenne powder (or more, if you like it hot!)

1 small onion, sliced

1/4 cup old fashioned oats

1 cup panko breadcrumbs

oil for frying

 

Start by sauteing your onions until translucent.

 

Mix everything together in a bowl until well combined.

 

Then, put it into your food processor and pulse a few times just until it holds together. You don’t want to do it too much and turn it into a paste! If it’s too soft, just add some more oats or breadcrumbs until it holds together. If it’s too dry, add a little water.

 

Scoop out about 1/2 cup worth and mold into a patty.

 

Fry it on the stove top in about a tablespoon of oil (I used extra virgin olive oil) until nice and golden on both sides. Drain it on a paper towel to get any excess oil off. Next time I’m going to coat it in some panko breadcrumbs before frying, for a little extra crunch!

 

Put them on some buns (mine were homemade :) recipe to come soon!) and add your choice of toppings! I put spinach, ketchup and some of my homemade pickles on it!! It was delicious!!!

…..Why do I always put up food posts when I’m so hungry?!?!

 

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! :) I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “About This Blog!” link at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

12 responses to “Lentil Burgers: A Recipe

  1. I need to try this recipe sometime. We are slowly moving into healthier eating. This sounds like something that would work. I have been cooking black beans for myself to bring as lunch to work. I love them. I don’t think my husband can get past the “black” look of the beans. Haha.

  2. Hi there! The burgers look great and I’m trying to find interesting ways to use up the lentils I keep buying and never using! Will try and make them in secret so my kids don’t know and see what their response is. Positive, I hope! I notice you got a Kreativ Blogger award, me too! Thanks, Cath.

  3. Pingback: Whole Wheat Buns: A Recipe | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  4. Hmm…This recipe sounds wonderful. But the kids eat gluten free (mostly). Any thoughts on what a good substitute for the Panko crumbs would be? I’ve heard gluten-free Rice Chex works as Panko. Could you see that working in your recipe??? Thanks!

Leave a Reply

