Vacation Memory Jar: An Inspiration

So I came across this ADORABLE post on Pinterest the other day. A jar showcasing your vacation?! YES please! I can’t handle the cuteness, and how easy!? I’m the type of girl that can’t start in the middle of something, so lucky for me, my husband and I have only been on one vacation by ourselves. Our honeymoon. And while I don’t consider that a vacation, as it’s a HONEYMOON (and I have to tell him this every time he tries to say it IS a vacation), I still think it’s a pretty good place to start with my collection of memory jars. We’ll be heading over to California at the end of next month, so I CAN’T WAIT to make a jar for there! Eventually, I’d like to get a shelf of some sort to display them :).

So I started with a empty salsa jar (yay for free!)

My jar had the expiration date written on the glass, so I got out my handy dandy acetone nail polish remover (regular might not work), and just left the soaked cotton on the ink for a few seconds and it wiped clean. The good thing about the jar being clear, is you can see from the other side if it’s started working. It get’s blurry and starts to bleed, that’s when you can wipe!

Then, to get rid of the paper, because there’s no way I’m going to sit there and peel little pieces at a time, I soaked the jar in warm/ hot water for about 15 minutes and it just comes right off! No glue left over, nothing.

For my wedding, I got these little jars to decorate and put pink lemonade in as favors (ended up being one of the 3 favors we did!). Well, like everyyy wedding, I made way too many, and some people didn’t take them (mostly because they were put out at the very end, so some people had left or didn’t see them…obviously…..they’re so cute that’s the only reason you wouldn’t have taken them, right?! lol). So for our honeymoon, as an easy (but still really cute) gift for friends and family, I bagged some sand and used the extra jars as souvenirs! :) Well, they loved them, but I made too many of those too! So the extras were just sitting in my craft rack for the past….9 months! (WOW! That went by fast!) waiting for me to use them for this project!! Although, I only used two and still have a lot left! Anyone want some sand from Hawaii? lol

As soon as we got back from Hawaii I sent all my pictures to snapfish, so I had A LOT to go through and decide which to put in the jar and which to leave out….which was hard!! But I think the ones I chose are perfect. As for the jar top, I  covered it using the leftover adhesive cork scrapbook paper that I used in my Coaster Tiles post. Which I thought came out really cute! I couldn’t get a great picture of the jar, as the light was reflecting directly in front of us for the most part, and because the jar is naturally wavy (if that’s something that bothers you, you may just want to splurge on jar from the store), if you look at my face, it looks like the reflection from a fun house mirror lol!

**Update**

Here’s my jar from California! Next up-Florida, this April! :)sandiegojar

**Have a project you made using one of my tutorials? Show it off! I, along with all my followers, would love to see it! :) I’ve started a new page on my blog called “Your Pictures!”, located right next to the “Home” and “About This Blog!” links at the top of my blog. Check it out for more information, and to see other fan pics!**

Until tomorrow!!

22 responses to “Vacation Memory Jar: An Inspiration

  1. Your face is hilarious. I saw it on my phone and just opened it up while in bed with Adam napping beside me and I burst out laughing and woke up J! Hahahaha. LOVE this idea. I’m going to have L do it from now on :)

  2. cute idea!!! we are going to sweden for 2 weeks and will need to remember some keepsakes! PS can we see more from your wedding? did you make a lot of stuff for it? thanks for posting!

    • Ohhh that’s cool! Yeah you definitely have to remember to this, I’m so excited to do California’s now! And trust me, you’ll see a lot more from my wedding, I plan on doing a big post on our anniversary (sept 2nd). I made soooo much stuff lol

      • great idea to do it on the anniversary date! (shows you plan ahead too!) my brother lived in cali for a while- stationed as a marine. he loved it!

      • Yeah, a wedding one would be cute too :) I have a feeling that I’m NOT going to want to come back from Cali….I fell in love when I went years ago, and I think it’s going to happen again!

  3. Pingback: Happy 100 To Me!!! | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  4. Pingback: The Plaaaanning Is The Hardest Part… | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  5. Pingback: Homemade Kahlua | Diary of a Mad Crafter·

  6. Pingback: Great Ways to Commemorate Your Summer Vacation | Mrs. Fields Secrets·

Leave a Reply

