Almond crusted tofu, with coconut saffron rice, oh my!

Last night I made a pretty kick ass dinner for my husband and I. The recipe comes from Skinny Bitch Ultimate Everyday Cookbook. I only halved the tofu recipe, because it’s very filling, and also, fried foods don’t make good leftovers (I say as I’m stuffing my face with the last of it as I type). The only thing I would do differently with the tofu, is to dry fry it prior to deep frying it (that sounds so unhealthy, but trust me, it’s worth it). I swear I will never spend hours draining tofu with my colander and heavy books and weights again. I’ve found a new and awesome way of getting tofu to a great texture, and I got it from here. You REALLY need to have a non stick surface to do it on, otherwise the tofu will break and you’ll scream and curse like I did the first time I tried. I actually use my griddle, and it works amazingly, AND there’s so much room, you can get more done at a time. I started with the rice, so that I could make the tofu while it simmered.

Coconut-Saffron Rice

  • ┬áPinch of saffron (I get mine from Trader Joes, mucho cheap!)
  • 3 tablespoons light coconut milk (plus 1/2 cup)
  • 2 tablespoons grapeseed oil
  • 8 cardamom pods
  • 1/4 inch cinnamon stick (I used 1/4 teaspoon cinnamon powder, and it works fine, not to mention the specks looked really pretty in the rice)
  • 1 1/2 cups water
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup uncooked jasmine rice

 

In a small pan (I used the pot that I was cooking the rice in), quickly (about 20 seconds) toast the pinch of saffron on low heat . Remove from pan, and crumble in a small bowl. Heat up your 3 tablespoons of coconut milk, and pour over the saffron to infuse.

It will start to change the milk to a pretty orange like this.

 

In a large pot, heat the oil over medium high heat, and add your cardamom and cinnamon. Stir to flavor the oil, and to prevent burning.

 

Add the water (careful while doing this step, as you’re adding it to hot oil, and it will spit), the remaining 1/2 cup of coconut milk, and your salt. Turn up your heat to bring to a boil, and prepare your rice.

Always wash your rice. IT. IS. DIRTY. Put it in a bowl with water and swish your hands around to release any dirt. Once you wash it, strain it and rinse it under the faucet.

 

Once your liquid has boiled, add your rice, and lower the heat to a simmer and cook for 20 minutes. Remove your pan from the heat, take out the cardamom pods and cinnamon stick, if using, and add your saffron infused coconut milk. Cover with a lid, to keep it hot until your tofu is done.

Coconut-and Almond-Crusted Tofu

  • 1 cup grapeseed oil
  • 1 cup unbleached all purpose flour
  • 1 cup light coconut milk
  • 1 cup shredded unsweetened coconut (stupid me, forgot to buy this! But it still tasted really good!)
  • 1/4 cup almond meal
  • 1/4 cup Panko breadcrumbs
  • 1 14 oz. pkg extra-firm tofu
  • salt and pepper (to taste)

 

Drain tofu well and cut into finger-size sticks (I cut the tofu into 9 rectangles).

They’re about 1/4 inch thick.

 

Place the oil in a deep, heavy-bottomed large saucepan and place over medium heat. Place the flour in a shallow dish and the milk in another shallow dish. In a third shallow dish, combine the coconut, almond meal, and breadcrumbs.

 

Line a baking sheet with several layers of paper towels ready for draining. Dredge the tofu in the flour, shaking off any excess, then in the coconut milk and finally in the coconut mixture, skaking off any excess. When the oil is hot enough for frying, CAREFULLY (I used a pair of tongs, because boiling oil scares the crap out of me) drop the tofu in small batches, so as not to overcrowd (I did one at a time). Fry until golden brown, about 4 minutes.

Here’s what it looked like when I first had dropped it in.

 

Here it is ready to be taken out, about 3 minutes after.

 

Transfer to baking sheet to drain. Season with salt and pepper to taste.

That’s exactly the color you’re looking for!

 

Serve with your coconut-saffron rice. She also suggests serving the tofu with her mango chutney, which I didn’t see until I started making it, otherwise I’d had made that too!

Hope you try them out, because they’re SO good and SO easy to make! It probably took me less than 40 minutes from start to finish to make both!

Until tomorrow!!

2 responses to “Almond crusted tofu, with coconut saffron rice, oh my!

  1. Pingback: Am I preggers or just really hungry… « diary of a mad crafter·

Leave a Reply

